Skip to Content

Dallas Herring Achievement Award

The Dallas Herring Achievement Award was established by the North Carolina Community College System in 2010 to honor the late Dr. Dallas Herring, one of the state's earliest advocates of community colleges. The award is bestowed annually upon a current or former student who best embodies Dr. Herring's philosophy of "taking people where they are and carrying them as far as they can go."

2012 Award Recipient

Rachel Okun



2011 Award Recipient

Brenda Lopez Benitez

(pictured with Randolph Community College President, Dr. Robert Shackleford)



2010 Award Recipients

Brian Long


(pictured with Mitchell Community College President, Dr. Doug Eason)

Chastity Holt

(Pictured with Wilkes Community College President, Dr. Gordon Burns)

Updated by Public Affairs Thursday, August 30, 2012 10:28:21 AM