Five New Members Appointed to the State Board of Community Colleges

Five New Members Appointed to the State Board of Community Colleges

Friday, July 16, 2021 - 10:31am

RALEIGH – Governor Roy Cooper has announced his appointment of the following five members to the North Carolina State Board of Community Colleges:

  • Sam Searcy of Holly Springs as a member at-large. Searcy is the chairman and CEO of CliniStart, a tech-enabled clinical life sciences company specializing in solving the rate-limiting aspects of study start-up in global clinical trials. He was elected to the North Carolina General Assembly in 2018 and served as a state senator, representing NC-17 until 2021.
  • Dr. Shirley A. Carraway of Winterville as a representative of region 6. Dr. Carraway was the North Carolina liaison for the Southeast Comprehensive Center. Carraway served as a superintendent for Orange County Schools and as an associate superintendent for curriculum and instruction for Pitt County Schools. She recently served on the Pitt Community College and currently serves on the North Carolina Public School Forum.
  • Raymond Trapp of Durham as a member at-large. Trapp is the vice president of Strategic Engagement for the Research Triangle Foundation of North Carolina. Trapp previously served as the director of external affairs at the North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University. He served as county commissioner of NC District 8 from 2012 to 2017.
  • J. Anthony “Andy” Penry of Raleigh as a member at-large. Penry is a partner at Penny Riemann. He serves on the Uniform Laws Commission. Penry has also served three terms on the Wake Technical Community College Board of Trustees.
  • Sarah West of Chapel Hill as a representative of region 3. West is Principal of Sarah West & Associates, a consulting practice for higher education, healthcare, and entrepreneurial clients. She previously served as associate vice president for Strategic Planning and the Campaign at Duke University.

About the North Carolina State Board of Community Colleges (NCSBCC)

The SBCC is organized and operates in accordance with North Carolina General Statute 115D-2.1. The Board has 21 members, 18 who are appointed to six-year terms, and three ex officio members (State treasurer, lieutenant governor, and North Carolina Student Government Association president). Meetings occur the third Thursday and Friday of each month, with the exception of June and December. Read more.