Small Business Center Network Announces Award Recipients

Small Business Center Network Announces Award Recipients

Tuesday, December 10, 2013 - 12:00am

RALEIGH – The North Carolina Community College System Small Business Center Network announced award recipients during a recent conference in Asheville.  The annual, statewide awards were restructured in the past year and now honor small business centers and center directors for Innovation, Service/Collaboration and Programs/Seminars; Business Success Story Impact and Overcoming Challenges; and Small Business Center Director Rookie of the Year.  Center directors are also recognized for years of service and credentialing.

“Our Small Business Center Network provides a tremendous service to the communities our colleges serve,” says NC Community College System President, Dr. Scott Ralls.  “Through the education, support and resources these centers provide, entrepreneurs are starting locally-owned businesses, providing employment opportunities and positively impacting the state’s economic growth.”

The Small Business Center Network (SBCN) is organized in six regions to correspond with the System’s Customized Training regions and increase coordination with the regional economic development partnerships. In 2012-2013, SBCN provided 3,781 entrepreneurship seminars to 46,782 attendees and counseling to 6,971 individuals, resulting in 528 business startups and 2,967 jobs created or retained.

Rookie of the Year

Martha Larson, Davidson County Community College

Directors who have been in their position for two years or less are eligible to receive the Rookie of the Year award.  Larson’s leadership of the Davidson County Community College Small Business Center resulted in significantly increased client counseling and an enhanced image in the counties served by the center.

Innovation Award – Programs/Seminars

Anne Shaw, Coastal Carolina Community College

Tamara Bryant, Fayetteville Technical Community College

Both Shaw and Bryant were recognized for their work on Boots to Business and the Women’s Veteran Entrepreneurship Summit initiatives, targeted toward increasing entrepreneurship among U.S. military veterans.

Innovation Award – Services/Collaboration

Eddie McGimsey, Western Piedmont Community College

McGimsey is honored for his work in identifying and building community support for the creation of an organization that assists new businesses by providing small business loans.

Business Success Story – Impact

Lentz Stowe, Beaufort County Community College

Through counseling and support provided by the Beaufort County Community College Small Business Center, a husband and wife team secured a building re-use grant and opened Main Street Eatery in downtown Cresswell, employing 15 individuals.

Business Success Story – Overcoming Challenges

Daniel K. Farmer, Randolph Community College

Farmer and the Small Business Center at Randolph Community College worked closely with a client to start his own business by first securing licenses to run an area commissary, and then the funding and licensing necessary to expand his business to include a food truck.

State Director of the Year

Anne Shaw, Coastal Carolina Community College

Bob Moore, Robeson Community College

Mark Hagenbuch, Guilford Technical Community College

The Director of the Year is recognized for going above and beyond in providing significant support, time and service to the clients within their center’s service area as well as in support of the Small Business Center Network mission at the state level.