State Board of Community Colleges approves president of Robeson Community College

State Board of Community Colleges approves president of Robeson Community College

Thursday, October 31, 2019 - 5:23pm

RALEIGH, N.C. - The State Board of Community Colleges has approved the appointment of a new president for Robeson Community College.


The board voted Oct. 18 to approve Melissa Singler, currently executive vice president of Cape Fear Community College, as the next president of Robeson Community College. Singler has held several administrative positions at Cape Fear since 2006. A former instructor and school administrator, Singler earned two degrees from UNC Wilmington.


The board also approved the appointment of William Aiken as interim president of Southeastern Community College. Aiken has previously served as interim president at several community colleges in North Carolina, including Wake Tech in 2018-19. He will assume the role at Southeastern, succeeding Acting President Beverlee Nance, whose appointment was also approved by the board.

In other action:


  • The board approved the allocation of $6.4 million to offset enrollment declines at 19 colleges due to Hurricane Florence last year. The state funding was made available through hurricane relief legislation.
  • The board approved the annual report on the Comprehensive Articulation Agreement, which governs the transfer of North Carolina community college students' academic credit to the UNC system. Since the agreement went into effect in 2014, the number of NC community college students who transferred to UNC campuses has risen by nearly 27% to 11,218, including an 8.5% increase last year. The report also showed that the number of community college students who transferred to the UNC System after earning an associate degree has jumped by 53% during the four-year period. The agreement eases the transfer of course credit from community colleges to universities.
  • The board welcomed two new members: Catherine Edmonds, superintendent of the Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Public Schools; and Mary Ann Rice, senior vice president at the State Employees Credit Union.