State Board of Community Colleges approves presidents at three colleges

State Board of Community Colleges approves presidents at three colleges

Friday, August 16, 2019 - 3:57pm

RALEIGH, N.C. - The State Board of Community Colleges approved the appointments of three college presidents on Friday.

Lew Hunnicutt was named the president of Nash Community College in Rocky Mount, succeeding Bill Carver, who will retire in October. Hunnicutt is assistant provost and campus director for the University of Georgia - Griffin Campus and previously held administrative positions at three higher education institutions in Louisiana and Texas. He holds a doctorate in animal science from the University of Wyoming. Hunnicutt will begin the job on Nov. 1.

The board gave final approval to the appointment of Anthony Clarke as the next president of Guilford Technical Community College. Clarke is currently the president of Southeastern Community College in Whiteville, a position he has held since 2014, and previously served as vice president and chief academic officer at Richmond Community College in Hamlet. Clarke has a doctorate in organizational behavior from Union Institute & University in Cincinnati, Ohio. He will begin the position at Guilford Tech by Nov. 1.

Also on Friday, the board approved the selection of Audre Levy as the interim president at Roanoke-Chowan Community College in Ahoskie. Levy has been in positions of leadership at community colleges in California, Texas and Florida. She recently retired after serving more than six years as president of Lone Star College-CyFair in Cypress, Texas. She earned a doctorate in institutional management at Pepperdine University. Her appointment at Roanoke-Chowan begins immediately.