State Board of Community Colleges Elects Chair and Vice Chair

State Board of Community Colleges Elects Chair and Vice Chair

Friday, July 16, 2021 - 4:49pm

The North Carolina State Board of Community Colleges (SBCC) today as part of its monthly meeting, elected Dr. Breeden Blackwell of Fayetteville as chair and William “Bill” McBrayer of Hickory as vice chair. Each will serve a two-year term.

“The Great 58 community colleges are North Carolina’s job engine and will lead economic recovery efforts for our great state,” said Thomas A. Stith III, president of the North Carolina Community College System. “Having leadership committed to creating the workforce needed for business and industry is critical at this time, and I look forward to the continued leadership of Dr. Blackwell and Mr. McBrayer.”

Blackwell and McBrayer provide this joint statement: “North Carolina’s community college system is the third largest in the country, and we look forward to our continued work together to serve this world-class higher education system.”

The Board also welcomed five new members appointed by Governor Cooper, each to serve a six-year term: The Honorable Sam Searcy of Holly Springs, Dr. Shirley A. Carraway of Winterville, Raymond Trapp of Durham, J. Anthony “Andy” Penry of Raleigh, and Sarah West of Chapel Hill.


About the North Carolina State Board of Community Colleges (SBCC)

The SBCC is organized and operates in accordance with North Carolina General Statute 115D-2.1. The Board has 21 members, 18 who are appointed to six-year terms, and three ex officio members (State treasurer, lieutenant governor, and North Carolina Student Government Association president). Meetings occur the third Thursday and Friday of each month, with the exception of June and December. Read more.