State Board of Community Colleges Names Interim President

State Board of Community Colleges Names Interim President

Friday, June 19, 2015 - 3:33pm

RALEIGH – The State Board of Community Colleges, named George Fouts as interim president of the NC Community College System during its June meeting today. Fouts will assume the interim role on September 1 when current System President, Dr. R. Scott Ralls, leaves to begin his tenure as President of Northern Virginia Community College.

Fouts brings more than 40 years of experience working within the North Carolina Community College System, serving in many leadership roles including as Executive Vice President of Guilford Technical Community College, interim president at Mayland and Roanoke-Chowan community colleges, as well as integral roles in the System’s student success initiatives.  Fouts was also the 2015 recipient of the I.E. Ready Award, the highest honor bestowed on an individual by the State Board of Community Colleges.

“George has a long history with North Carolina’s community colleges and will bring significant insight from a local, state and national level as he serves as interim president,” said Dr. Linwood Powell, Chairman of the State Board of Community Colleges. “We are very appreciative of his flexibility to quickly take on this role and ensure a smooth transfer of leadership.”

In other business, the State Board approved the hiring of new presidents at Cape Fear Community College, Craven Community College and Wilson Community College.  Dr. Amanda Lee, now interim President at Cape Fear, began serving as President immediately following the State Board’s approval.  Dr. Raymond Staats, currently an Operations Research Analyst for U.S. Army Cadet Command in Fort Knox, KY will begin his presidency at Craven Community College on July 15.  Dr. Robert Wright, currently the Vice President for Academic Affairs at Casper College in Wyoming, will begin serving as the President of Wilson Community College on August 1.

Chair Powell also appointed a new member to the Board’s Presidential Search Committee. William S. Wellons, Jr., currently on the Board of Trustees at Fayetteville Technical Community College and a member of the Executive Committee of the NC Association of Community College Trustees, will serve as a non-voting member on the committee.