State Board Names Three College Presidents

State Board Names Three College Presidents

Friday, July 15, 2016 - 1:27pm

RALEIGH – The State Board of Community Colleges today approved presidents for Roanoke-Chowan Community College in Ahoskie, Stanly Community College in Albemarle and Wayne Community in College in Goldsboro.

Dr. Jimmy Tate, who is currently Vice President for College Advancement and Strategic Initiatives at James Sprunt Community College, will become Roanoke-Chowan Community College’s eighth president on August 8. He succeeds Dr. Michael Elam who was president for three years. A North Carolina community college graduate, Dr. Tate holds a doctorate in education. The Roanoke-Chowan Board of Trustees voted to approve Dr. Tate on June 23 pending the State Board’s approval.

Dr. John D. Enamait, Vice President of Instruction at Edgecombe Community College in Tarboro, will become the fifth president of Stanly Community College on August 15. He succeeds Dr. Brenda Kays, who was president from September 2011-January 2016, and Interim President, Robin McRee. A North Carolina community college graduate, Dr. Enamait earned his Ph.D. in Technology Management with a Digital Communication specialization from Indiana State University. The Stanly Board of Trustees voted to approve Dr. Enamait on June 16 pending the State Board’s approval.

Dr. Thomas Walker, Jr. has been named Wayne Community College’s sixth president, succeeding Dr. Kay Albertson, who served for nine years. A North Carolina native, Dr. Walker is currently President of the Grand Island campus of Central Community College in Nebraska. Dr. Walker is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and received his Ph.D. from the University of Memphis. He will begin his presidency on September 1. Dr. Gene Smith, Vice President for Academic and Student Services at Wayne Community College, has been appointed interim president to serve until September 1.

Today’s State Board meeting was the first for the NC Community College System’s new President, Dr. James C. Williamson, who began his tenure on July 1. In one of his first actions, Williamson named Chief Financial Officer and Executive Vice President Jennifer Haygood, as Chief of Staff. Haygood, who has been with the System Office since 2008, will, among other responsibilities, lead the internal workings of the System Office and its interface with the 58 community colleges. Haygood has a Bachelor of Arts from Rice University and a Master of Public Policy from Duke University. Prior to joining the System Office, she worked in Fiscal Research in the NC General Assembly.

“I appreciate Jennifer’s willingness to take on this new role, and I am grateful that her considerable talents, experiences and insight will continue to be a critical part of our System,” Dr. Williamson said. “It was clear to me from Day One that we needed Jennifer’s role to be enhanced, and her strong leadership will allow me to focus on building relationships with key stakeholders across North Carolina.”

Kirsten Stovall, in her final year at Randolph Community College, was sworn in as the student representative on the State Board for the 2016-17 academic year. Stovall is the President of the NC Comprehensive Community College Student Government Association (N4CSGA), the student government association for the System’s 58 community colleges. She will serve on the State Board’s Programs Committee.