Voting members appointed to presidential search committee

Voting members appointed to presidential search committee

Friday, June 26, 2020 - 4:01pm

RALEIGH, N.C. - Voting members of a presidential search committee were appointed Friday by the chair of the State Board of Community Colleges.


The voting members of the search committee are:

  • Bob Stephens of Raleigh, chair
  • William Holder of Raleigh, vice chair
  • Breeden Blackwell of Fayetteville
  • Bill McBrayer of Hickory
  • Catherine Edmonds of Elizabeth City
  • Lisa Estep of Wilmington
  • Sam Powell of Burlington
  • Jerry Vaughan of Charlotte

They are all members of the State Board of Community Colleges. In naming the voting members, State Board Chair Blackwell said advisory members may be added to the panel.


The committee will soon begin the process of searching for a successor to NC Community College System President Peter Hans. Hans was recently elected to serve as the next president of the University of North Carolina System. He will assume that role in August.


In other business on Friday, the State Board approved an allocation of up to $500,000 to Catawba Valley Community College for the Manufacturing Solutions Center to establish a personal protective equipment testing laboratory. The funding was made available through the 2020 COVID-19 Recovery Act.


Funding additional equipment for mask and gown testing will allow the center to create a national PPE lab to test fabrics quickly, develop a database of approved mask and gown fabrics for medical use and help U.S. companies make medical grade PPE.


North Carolina's 58 community colleges serve about 700,000 students a year in college-transfer programs, short-term workforce training, high school dual enrollment, career and technical education and adult basic education.