Regulations and Policies

Regulations and Policies

These policies and regulations assist colleges with student services function at their institutions.

Multiple Measures

The Multiple Measures policy establishes a hierarchy of measures that colleges will use to determine second semester seniors and recent high school graduates’ readiness for college-level courses.

NC Diagnostic and Placement Test

The NC DAP is the placement test used by community colleges in North Carolina to assess a student’s English, reading, and math college readiness and identifies which course or courses best fit a student’s academic skill level. Administered using the online assessment platform, ACCUPLACER by College Board, the evaluation measures skill levels in reading, English grammar, arithmetic, and elementary algebra. The test is divided into two sections, DRE English/Reading and DMA Math. There is no fee to take the NC DAP at a community college.

Records Retention

North Carolina Community College Records Retention Schedule

Retention and disposition schedules issued by the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources, Division of Archives and Records are one of the tools that state, local, and university officials can use when managing the records in their offices.

Why does the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources issue retention and disposition schedules?

Residency Determination Service (RDS)

The Residency Determination Service (RDS) is a centralized, uniform process for determining residency for tuition purposes and for administration of state financial aid.  This policy governs the University of North Carolina (UNCGA), the North Carolina Community College System (NCCCS), the North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority (NCSEAA), and the North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities (NCICU). 

Reverse Transfer

The Reverse Transfer Program is a collaborative effort between North Carolina's Community Colleges and the University of North Carolina's 16 constituent institutions. Students who transfer to a North Carolina university from one of the 58 North Carolina community colleges are given the opportunity to combine the credits earned at the university with credit already earned at the community college to determine if the associate degree requirements have been met.

Title IX

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 (Title IX) prohibits discrimination based on sex in education programs and activities in federally funded schools at all levels.1 If any part of a school district or college receives any Federal funds for any purpose, all of the operations of the district or college are covered by Title IX.