Proprietary Schools are for-profit businesses which provide vocational education and training. Under Article 8, Chapter 115D of the North Carolina General Statutes, the State Board of Community Colleges, acting by and through the State Board of Proprietary Schools, licenses proprietary schools in North Carolina.
Our purpose is to assure prospective and enrolled students and citizens of North Carolina that proprietary schools operating in North Carolina meet minimum standards of quality in their operation. The pages below provide information on licensing regulations and processes, licensed schools, and additional resources related to establishing and maintaining post-secondary educational standards.
Directory of Proprietary Schools
Proprietary schools currently licensed by the State Board of Community Colleges.
*In a final agency action on Friday, November 18, 2016, the State Board of Community Colleges voted to revoke the proprietary school license of Priority Nursing College.
The initial licensing process may take several months due to the investigations and reviews required. Proprietary schools are required to pay an initial license fee of $3,200, plus $50 per program submitted for licensing; a Student Protection Fund Assessment of $1,250; and obtain a guarantee bond.
The licensure process begins with the submission of a Preliminary Application to the Office of Proprietary Schools via US Mail, facsimile at 919-807-7169, or email to firstname.lastname@example.org or email@example.com.
Forms for adding programs or faculty, quarterly bond reporting forms and license renewal applications.
|2017 - 2018 License Renewal Application||307.69 KB|
|Administration & Faculty Report||36.4 KB|
|Program Revision Proposal||48.7 KB|
|Program Addition Proposal||59.48 KB|
|Quarterly Bond Report||40.5 KB|
|Remote Site Proposal||24.16 KB|
|School Relocation Proposal||27.62 KB|
|Approved Test Instruments||148.24 KB|
|Guidelines & Regulations Manual||410.12 KB|