Regulations and Policies

The North Carolina Community Colleges regulations and policies can be found below.

NC Diagnostic and Placement Test

The NC DAP is the placement test used by community colleges in North Carolina to assess a student’s English, reading, and math college readiness and identifies which course or courses best fit a student’s academic skill level.

Records Retention

Retention and disposition schedules issued by the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources, Division of Archives and Records are one of the tools that state, local, and university officials can use when managing the records in their offices.

Residency Determination Service (RDS)

The Residency Determination Service (RDS) is a centralized, uniform process for determining residency for tuition purposes and for administration of state financial aid.  This policy governs the University of North Carolina (UNCGA), the North Carolina Community College System (NCCCS), the North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority (NCSEAA), and the North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities (NCICU).

Reverse Transfer

The Reverse Transfer Program is a collaborative effort between all 58 North Carolina's Community Colleges and the University of North Carolina's 16 constituent institutions. Students who transfer to a North Carolina university from one of the 58 North Carolina community colleges are given the opportunity to combine the credits earned at the university with credit already earned at the community college to determine if the associate degree requirements have been met.

Title IX

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 (Title IX) prohibits discrimination based on sex in education programs and activities in federally funded schools at all levels.1 If any part of a school district or college receives any Federal funds for any purpose, all of the operations of the district or college are covered by Title IX.

200 West Jones Street Raleigh, North Carolina 27603

(919) 807-7100