The North Carolina Comprehensive Articulation Agreement (CAA) is a statewide agreement governing the transfer of credits between NC community colleges and NC public universities and has as its objective the smooth transfer of students. 

The CAA provides certain assurances to the transferring student; for example:

  • Assures admission to one of the 16 UNC institutions (Transfer Assured Admissions Policy)
  • Enables NC community college graduates of two-year Associate in Arts and Associate in Science degree programs who are admitted to constituent institutions of the university of NC to transfer with junior status.

Transfer Credit Appeal Procedure

If a transfer student perceives that the terms of the CAA have not been honored, he or she may follow the Transfer Credit Appeal Procedure. (Appendix E of the attached Comprehensive Articulation Agreement)

Associate in Arts and Associate in Science

  • The Associate in Arts (A10100) (AA) degree is designed for students who want to pursue a four-year degree in one of the liberal arts disciplines or training at a professional school that requires a strong liberal arts background.
  • The Associate in Science (A10400) (AS) degree is designed for students who want to pursue a four-year degree in areas of study such as computer science, engineering, mathematics, the sciences or professional programs that require strong mathematics and science backgrounds.

Transfer Course List

  • The Transfer Course List contains a list of courses accepted for transfer between the NC Community College System and the University of North Carolina is located below. For current information on course offerings, please contact the individual community college.

Memos Related to the Comprehensive Articulation Agreement

  • CC14-006 2014 Comprehensive Articulation Agreement
  • CC24-005 Transfer Advisory Committee Actions
  • CC23-037  Transfer Advisory Committee Actions
  • CC23-028 Transfer Advisory Committee Actions
  • CC22-040 Transfer Advisory Committee Actions
  • CC21-033 Transfer Advisory Committee Actions
  • CC21-023 Transfer Advisory Committee Actions
  • CC21-012 Transfer Advisory Committee Actions
  • CC16-016 Transfer Advisory Committee Actions
  • CC16-004  Transfer Advisory Committee Actions

Transfer Advisory Committee (TAC) Members

The CAA has been approved by the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina and the NC State Board of Community Colleges.  Authority to interpret the CAA policy rests with the Transfer Advisory Committee. The Transfer Advisory Committee typically meets four times a year.

2022-2023 TAC Committee Members

North Carolina Community College System Members

Jonathan Loss, Co-Chair
Dean of Enrollment Management
Catawba Valley Community College
2550 Highway 70 SE
Hickory, NC 28602
Phone: 828-327-7000, x4526

Dr. Maggie Brown, Member
Vice-President Instruction & Student Support
Carteret Community College
3505 Arendell Street
Morehead City, NC 28557
Phone: 252-222-6144

Barry Priest, Member
Vice President for Student Services
Bladen Community College
7418 NC Hwy 41 West
PO Box 266
Dublin, NC 28332
Phone: 910-879-5579

Jenn Gardner Selby, Member
Chair, Art & Design; Executive Director of Transfer & University Partnerships
Rowan-Cabarrus Community College
1333 Jake Alexander Blvd S.
Salisbury, NC 28146
Phone: 704-798-5241


North Carolina Community College System Representative

James W Kelley, Representative
Associate Vice President for Student Services
NC Community College System Office
5016 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-5016
Phone: 919-807-7098

University of North Carolina System Members

Angela Anderson, Co-Chair
Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Academic Success and Registrar
East Carolina University
Uptown 207
Greenville, NC 27858
Phone: 252-737-5118

Darnette Hall, Member
Senior Assistant Director of Admissions
Fayetteville State University
1200 Murchison Road
Fayetteville, NC 28301-4298
Phone: (910) 672-1373

Tina McEntire, Member
Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
241 Mossman Bldg.
Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336-256-8602

Ted Zerucha, Member
Assistant Vice Provost, General and Experiential Education
Appalachian State University
ASU Box 32065
Boone, NC 28608-2065
Phone: 828-262-2028

University of North Carolina System Representative

Eric Fotheringham, Representative
Assistant Vice President for Transfer Student Success & Partnerships
The University of North Carolina System
223 S. West Street Suite 1800
Raleigh, NC 27603
Phone: 919-843-6967



No minutes are available for this year.

200 West Jones Street Raleigh, North Carolina 27603

(919) 807-7100