Associate in Science in Teacher Preparation (ASTP)


The Associate in Science in Teacher Preparation degree shall be granted for a planned program of study consisting of a minimum of 60 semester hours of credit (SHC) of college transfer courses. Within the degree program, the institution shall include opportunities for the achievement of competence in reading, writing, oral communication, fundamental mathematical skills, and the basic computer use. The Comprehensive Articulation Agreement (CAA) and the Independent Comprehensive Articulation Agreement (ICAA) enables North Carolina community college graduates of two-year associate in science programs who are admitted to constituent institutions of The University of North Carolina and to Signatory Institutions of North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities to transfer with junior status. Community college graduates must obtain a grade of “C” or better in each course and an overall GPA of at least 2.7 on a 4.0 scale in order to transfer with a junior status. Courses may also transfer through bilateral agreements between institutions.

Potential Careers

The following occupational information is provided by and is subject to change. The occupations list is not an exhaustive list and may include careers that require higher levels of education than those provided at NCCCS colleges.

Colleges That Offer This Program

Alamance Community CollegeAsheville Buncombe Technical Community CollegeBeaufort County Community CollegeBladen Community CollegeBlue Ridge Community CollegeBrunswick Community CollegeCaldwell Community College And Technical InstituteCape Fear Community CollegeCarteret Community CollegeCatawba Valley Community CollegeCentral Carolina Community CollegeCentral Piedmont Community CollegeCleveland Community CollegeCoastal Carolina Community CollegeCollege Of The AlbemarleCraven Community CollegeDavidson Davie Community CollegeDurham Technical Community CollegeEdgecombe Community CollegeFayetteville Technical Community CollegeForsyth Technical Community CollegeGaston CollegeGuilford Technical Community CollegeHalifax Community CollegeHaywood Community CollegeIsothermal Community CollegeJames Sprunt Community CollegeJohnston Community CollegeLenoir Community CollegeMartin Community CollegeMayland Community CollegeMcDowell Technical Community CollegeMitchell Community CollegeMontgomery Community CollegeNash Community CollegePamlico Community CollegePiedmont Community CollegePitt Community CollegeRandolph Community CollegeRichmond Community CollegeRoanoke Chowan Community CollegeRobeson Community CollegeRockingham Community CollegeRowan Cabarrus Community CollegeSampson Community CollegeSandhills Community CollegeSouth Piedmont Community CollegeSoutheastern Community CollegeSouthwestern Community CollegeStanly Community CollegeSurry Community CollegeTri County Community CollegeVance Granville Community CollegeWake Technical Community CollegeWayne Community CollegeWestern Piedmont Community CollegeWilkes Community CollegeWilson Community College
200 West Jones Street Raleigh, North Carolina 27603

(919) 807-7100